# Caching and cache breaking
When caching is enabled (
cacheEnabled configuration setting set to
transformed images are cached for the duration of the
setting. If an image file is replaced, the existing transforms will be deleted.
If a file is moved, the transforms will also be regenerated, since Imager will
not find the transforms in the new location.
It is possible to manually remove the generated transforms by going to Settings > Clear Caches, selecting "Imager image transform cache" and clicking "Clear!". You can also select the images you want to clear in the Assets element list, and choose "Clear Imager transforms" from the element action dropdown menu.
When transforming a remote image, the image will be downloaded and cached
for the duration of the
cacheDurationRemoteFiles configuration setting.
You can manually remove the cached remote images by going to
Settings > Clear Caches, selecting "Imager remote images cache" and